Skip to main content

Contacts for local SELPAs

What is a SELPA?

In 1977, all school districts and county school offices were mandated to form consortiums in geographical regions of sufficient size and scope to provide for all special education service needs of children residing within the region boundaries. Each region, Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA), developed a local plan describing how it would provide special education services.

SELPAs are dedicated to the belief that all students can learn and that special needs students must be guaranteed equal opportunity to become contributing members of society. SELPAs facilitate high quality educational programs and services for special needs students and training for parents and educators. The SELPA collaborates with county agencies and school districts to develop and maintain healthy and enriching environments in which special needs students and families can live and succeed. Read More


SELPA Contacts

ALPINE (Tahoe-Alpine SELPA)
Alpine County Unified School District (ACUSD)
Website: https://www.alpinecoe.k12.ca.us/District/47-Untitled.html
Lake Tahoe Unified School District (LTUSD)
Website: http://www.ltusd.org/district/departments/special_services_
530.541.2850 x 1026
Annamarie Cohen, Director of Special Services (LTUSD)
acohen@ltusd.org
1021 Al Tahoe Boulevard | South Lake Tahoe 96150-4502


AMADOR
Website: https://amadorcoe.org/departments/special-education/
209.257.5306
Kathryn Brown, Director, Special Education/SELPA
kathryn.brown@acusd.org
217 Rex Ave | Jackson, CA 95642


BUTTE
Website: https://buttecountyselpa.org/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ButteCountySELPACommunityConnection/
530.532.5621
Aaron Benton, SELPA Director
abenton@bcoe.org
1870 Bird Street | Oroville, CA 95965


COLUSA
Facebook: (Colusa Unified School District)
https://www.facebook.com/ColusaUnifiedSchoolDistrict/
530.473.1350 x 10806
Chuck Wayman, Assistant Superintendent/SELPA Director
cwayman@ccoe.net
499 Margurite Street, Suite A | Williams, CA  95987


GLENN
Website: http://www.glenncoe.org/Departments/Student-Services/SELPA/
530.934.6575 x 2102
Jacki Campos, Assistant Superintendent of Student Services, SELPA Director
jcampos@glenncoe.org
Willows Administration Building
311 South Villa Avenue | Willows, CA 95988


LAKE
Website: https://www.lakecoe.org/SELPA
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LakeCountyOfficeofEducation/
707.262.4130
Elizabeth Shepherd, Senior Director SELPA
eshepherd@lakecoe.org
1152 S. Main Street | Lakeport, CA 95453


LASSEN
Website: http://www.lcoe.org/Departments/Special-Education/index.html
530.257.2196 x 3011
Jan DeMers, SELPA Director
jdemers@lcoe.org
472-013 Johnstonville Road North | Susanville, CA 96130


MARIN
Website: https://www.marinschools.org/SELPA
415.499.5850
Facebook: (Marin County Office of Education)
https://www.facebook.com/marincoe/
Jon Lenz, Marin County SELPA Director
jlenz@marinschools.org
PO Box 4925, 1111 Las Gallinas Avenue | San Rafael, CA 94913


MENDOCINO
Website: https://www.mcoe.us/about-mcoe/selpa/
Facebook: (Redwood Coast Regional Center)
https://www.facebook.com/redwoodcoastregionalcenter
Inland: 707.467.5000 Coast: 707.467.5060
Gina Danner, Executive Director
gdanner@mcoe.us
Inland: 2240 Old River Road, Ukiah, CA 95482
Coast: 300a Dana Street, Fort Bragg, CA 95437


MODOC
Website: http://www.modoccoe.k12.ca.us/special-education
Facebook: (Modoc County Office of Education)
https://www.facebook.com/modoccountyofficeofed/
530.233.7110
Marian Hall, SELPA Director
mhall@modoccoe.org
139 Henderson Street | Alturas, CA 96101


NAPA
Website: https://www.napacoe.org/selpa/
Facebook: (Napa County Office of Education)
https://www.facebook.com/ncoe2121/
707-253-6808         
Ginny Maiwald, Napa County SELPA Director
gmaiwald@napacoe.org
2121 Imola Avenue | Napa, CA 94559


SHASTA
Website: https://www.shastacoe.org/programs-services/selpa
Facebook: (Shasta County Office of Education)
https://www.facebook.com/Shasta-County-Office-of-Education-494355860917997/
530.225.0100
Sharon Hjella, Executive Director
shjella@shastacoe.org
1524 Magnolia Avenue | Redding, CA. 96001


SOLANO
Solano County SELPA
Website: https://www.solanocountyselpa.net/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SolanoCountySELPA/
707.399.4460
Andrew Ownby, Assistant Superintendent
aownby@solanocoe.net
5100 Business Center Drive | Fairfield, CA 94534-1658


SONOMA
Website: https://www.sonomaselpa.org/
Facebook: (Sonoma County Office of Education)
https://www.facebook.com/SCOESonoma/
707.524.2750
Adam Stein, Executive Director
astein@sonomaselpa.org
5860 Labath Avenue | Rohnert Park, CA 94928


SUTTER
Website: https://www.sutter.k12.ca.us/SELPA/index.html
Facebook: (Sutter County Superintendent of Schools)
https://www.facebook.com/suttercountyeducation
530.822.2910
Dr. Carolyn Patton, Assistant Superintendent
carolynp@sutter.k12.ca.us
970 Klamath Lane | Yuba City, CA 95993


TEHAMA
Website: https://www.tehamaschools.org/Departments/SELPA/index.html
Facebook: (Tehama County Department Of Education)
https://www.facebook.com/TehamaCountyDepartmentofEducation/
530.527.5811
Veronica Coates, SELPA Director
vcoates@tehamaschools.org
1135 Lincoln Street | Red Bluff, CA 96080


VALLEJO
Vallejo City Unified School District CAC
Franstina Moore, Special Education Director Secretary
Email: fmoore@vcusd.org
Tel: (707) 556-8921 ex. 50157
Shavay Hatter, Special Education Secretary
Email: shatter@vcusd.org
Tel: (707) 556-8921 ex. 50149
SELPA webpage: https://vcusd-ca.schoolloop.com/sped


YOLO
Website: https://www.ycoe.org/SELPA
Facebook: (Yolo County Office of Education)
https://www.facebook.com/YoloCOE/
530.668.6700
Elizabeth Engelken, Assistant Superintendent
elizabeth.engelken@ycoe.org
1280 Santa Anita Court | Woodland, CA 95776


YUBA
Website: https://www.yubacoe.org/selpa
Facebook: (Yuba County Office of Education)
https://www.facebook.com/YubaCOE/
530-749-4873
Lora Gonzalez, SELPA Director
lora.gonzalez@yubacoe.k12.ca.us
935 14th Street | Marysville, CA 95901-4198